This post is from a suggested group
Welcome to our group Brethren Tabletop Wa Group! A space for us to connect and share with each other. Start by posting your thoughts, sharing media, or creating a poll.
View groups and posts below.
This post is from a suggested group
Welcome to our group Brethren Tabletop Wa Group! A space for us to connect and share with each other. Start by posting your thoughts, sharing media, or creating a poll.
This post is from a suggested group
Ive been looking in the book but cant seem to find out if mounted heros can still call shield wall etc or if because they are mounted they can order mounted units (which i assume cannot shield wall) for the usual group orders? If im asking a silly question i apologise lol.
Thanks
Anthony
This post is from a suggested group
After a bit of a break (mostly due to Saga: Age of Chivalry coming out), we had a chance to return to Brethren. We used the Dark Ages army lists this time, for a Viking v Irish battle:
As before, some questions were raised.
There's a rule that says shooting into a wooded area gives a -1 to hit. But nothing seems to be said about shooting through a woods to units on the other side. Do woods block line of sight to the other side, or is it just a simple -1?
Once again, we were confused about who fights who in a big melee, especially where there is a big difference in number of figures. Do you have any explanations for how players go about deciding which figure is attacking which figure, when there are multiple possibilities and the decision greatly favours one side or the other?
It…
Hello! Thank you for the questions.
Point 1- Woodland is line of sight blocking. So units can't be targeted from the other side of a woodland. I realized I amended this in the Quick Start Guide but not the full rulebook. I will include this in the 2025 Errata.
Point 2- I have amended this now in the new versions of the book and it is included in the 2024 errata. The player with priority chooses who fights first and from then on players alternate in choosing fights to resolve. The player controlling a unit that has a choice on who it can fight declares it when one of those fights is chosen to be resolved.
Hope these answers clarify your questions and I look forward to reading more battle reports!
Matt
This post is from a suggested group
Can a Normal model move into combat or charge without using the heroic charge move?
This post is from a suggested group
We had a second game today (first real, non-solo game), and after the answers to yesterday's questions, we managed to complete a whole game. It was a lot of fun, though we had a few misunderstandings. which were mostly down to us.
But we have more questions!
Can a hero without a shield give an order to figures with shields to form a shield wall?
If a figure has a javelin and sword, can it switch between them in a turn (such as using the javelin to loose, then using the sword to defend when attacked)?
In a melee, if B is supporting A, and A gets pushed back, does B also get pushed back (assuming A has a clear path to move back)?
If you have multiple figures all in base to base contact during a melee, how do you decide who is fighting who?
Hi, not a problem, I'm glad you had fun :)
A hero without a shield is unable to call a shield wall as only infantry with shields are able to take part.
Yes you can use a ranged weapon in the Activation phase and then use a melee weapon in the Combat phase.
If A gets pushed back and has a clear path, the supporting spearman doesn't need to move. However if the supporting spearman is blocking their path, it will need to move to make way. In your example, the Red player can choose which one C engages with when one of those combats is declared. I have added this clarification in future printed books and in the errata on the rules page.
Hope these clear a few things up and I am enjoying reading your full reports!
Many Thanks
Matt
This post is from a suggested group
I picked up the rulebook last month, and just had a quick solo game (using my Vikings and Irish Saga figures) today to try and clarify how things worked. Though the basic rules seem relatively straightforward, there are some elements which led to me being very confused about how the game is meant to work.
It seems that only a hero can order a charge - an individual figure can't charge by themselves. I assume that they can just move (or run) into base to base contact with an enemy figure and then have a combat in the combat phase, but don't get the bonus for a charge?
Is there anything stopping an enemy from simply moving away after a figure has moved into base to base contact with them (via a move, run, or charge action)? In the situation I had, a Viking moved into base contact with an…
Thanks for the reply. Going back to the winning/losing - who counts as winning or losing if no wounds are inflicted? It would seem to be a draw in this case.
Or, is the side who got to make the wound roll (even if they didn't cause any wounds) considered the winner? Possibly being used to games where number of wounds is the only thing that matters for counting win/loss means I overlooked that possibility.
This post is from a suggested group
If you use 'Wait' on a few archers (with 2APs), waiting for the enemy to move up into range! My assumption was that this used up an AP so when I decided they were going to fire they could only ‘Loose’ as they only have 1AP left. My son pointed out that you usually redeem, say a voucher, for something of equal value so that you should get the action point back which would allow the archer to both Aim and Loose. Can I check your intention here as checking dictionary suggests he has a point.
This post is from a suggested group
I have read and reread page 9. I am happy with the charge and failed charge points BUT we have just had the case where a Viking (Hero lead) group has charged the Saxons (also lead by their hero) rolled only 2" on their D6 so has ended up about an inch and a half away from the Saxons. Fine they get -1 Defence. However the Saxons are now within 3" of the Saxons. The Saxon player rightly said I don't want to charge and Suffer the penalty as I can form up my shield Castle. The Vikings are now really close, in the next turn do they / can they...
A. accept the failed charge condition for being within 3" and die heroically on the shield castle the Saxons have now built.
B. Move back a couple of inches so as to have another at the next turn again…
This post is from a suggested group
I may have missed this, but once you've created your army, is there a guide as to the max/min size of individual units?
Regards
John
I've just remembered they aren't in the QUICK start rules but something to look forward to in the main book
Ah i thought that might be the case but i think i misread that sentence. Cheers dude thank you